man booker prize predictions from a very reliable fish.

Based on scientific evidence*, I provide my predictions for the books to be listed for the Man Booker Prize.

In no particular order, here are The Well Read Fish’s chosen:

Americanah – Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie
How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia – Mohsin Hamid
Life After Life – Kate Atkinson
The Woman Upstairs – Claire Messud
MaddAddam – Margaret Atwood
The Childhood of Jesus – J.M. Coetzee
TransAtlantic – Colum McCann
The Testament of Mary – Colm Toibin
The Guts – Roddy Doyle
Ghana Must Go – Taiye Selasi
Harvest – Jim Crace
Oleander Girl – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
We Need New Names – NoViolet Bulawayo – I know this brings me to 13, but I just get this book and it looks great!

Now, I haven’t (sadly) read these yet, but I just have a feeling – a scientific feeling, of course. But most of these have been on my wanna-read list (which in itself is very official scientific documentation). I also like to hope that the diverse cultures represented on this list would make our Old Man Booker proud.

*I am in no way a scientist. I stopped taking science in 12th grade. So . . . this post actually has no real validity whatsoever.

One comment

  1. Oh no! I have a bunch pile of Margaret Atwood books on the “to read” pile. Looks like I’m falling farther behind.

Leave a Reply

